Centenarian Award

As part of the Classic Boat Awards, the GYC has once again joined forces with the magazine for the Fourth Centenarian of the Year Trophy. The winner will be announced at the awards ceremony in London, after having been selected by an international jury of experts.

Gstaad Yacht Club Centenarian of the Year 2021 – Thalia

Built in 1888 at the yards of George Wanhill in Poole, Doorset, Thalia, a seductive Gaff Cutter is GYC Centenarian of the Year winner of the 2021 Classic Boat Awards edition.
With her age, Thalia has a long history of captivating the hearts of true sailing devotees, such the one of her actual owner David Aisher since 2010.

Complete article here

GYC Centenarian of the Year award - Past winners

From 2017 the Gstaad Yacht Club's Award ties in with the centenarian theme and seeks to recognise yachts of this vintage that have achieved something special. Past winners are:

2021 - Thalia, owned by David Aisher

2020 - Greta, owned by Steve Norris

2019 - Carlotta, CAN/UK owned by Michael P. Wright

2018 - Folly, ARG owned by German Frers

2017 - Jolie Brise, UK

The 2020 shortlist